The Joy is in the Connection – Postcards from the Edge

Receiving a hand written postcard, from Blogger Jayne Gorman of Girl Tweets World, led me to thinking about how we engage and interact with those we love, whilst away from the UK. The thoughtfulness of her handwriting a postcard to me – for no other reason than to share her appreciation of my time taken, in commenting on her blog, was a lovely gift to hold in my hand.

Jayne reminded me of the world travel, I made with my family back in 2007 and the joy I felt at being able to share in the small, but ultimately time consuming way, a little of what was going on for my family as we traversed the globe. The places and activities we were seeing and doing, which I knew would be of interest to the people we loved in the UK, especially the children.

I wanted to share little gifts and drawings, sending them in packages and wrappings – find flimsy country related airmail paper to write on – which reminded me of my mum in childhood and postcards with hand drawn pictures of the things happening to us to share with those back home.

In my small way – each one of those kids, special in my heart – were with me every step of the way. I saw my nieces in the flowers I picked in Fiji. My nephew Indy In the vibrant blue sea stars I encountered whilst snorkeling warm pacific waters. My friends son Danny – I knew would like learning about the different places. Sharing this with my family was the greatest gift I gave to myself and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

“That’s part of what I love about travel  – is being able to share it with others.”

There are times when I read as a Writer – I should write for myself and send it out to the world. What happens after that has nothing to do with me. I get that, but when I am able to see in another, some small inkling of joy, learning or understanding because of something they have read or seen – from what I have written or posted – it means ever such a lot to me.

Postcards

Writing is such an isolating craft – for me it is the joy in the connection, when I finally break through and am touched by another in some small way, which fills me with happiness. Like Jayne did with her postcard.

Doing what I want and sharing it with those I love (and I have a very big heart – having children has shown me just how much love I have to give) is probably the most important thing to my happiness. The most important thing to me in the world.

How do you share your life with others?

As always, I’d love to know your thoughts…

2 thoughts on “The Joy is in the Connection – Postcards from the Edge

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.