How Do You Restore and Reinvigorate Yourself At This Time of Year?

“Ultimately, each of us must develop within ourselves the capacity to make our way through the darkness without any companions, maps or guide.” Osho

Tenerife, canary Islands

Does anyone else experience this phenomena, when finding a way to cope with the christmas period?

Staying at San Blas – Eco Resort in Tenerife, reminded me of the joy felt in spending a few days relaxing in an attentive and caring environment, leaving me feeling restored and reinvigorated.

Enjoying the all inclusive package on offer during our stay and offering me the opportunity to learn a little more about natural and human evolution in Tenerife, developed my understanding and connected me emotionally with the island.

During my travels I feel so connected with life – I wonder if this is because I feel so connected with me as an individual. Or could it be the time of year, the type of society I live in, my age, my insecurities, which seem closer to the surface during this time. I don’t know but I do feel lonely for a while-and feel it keenly on my return.

It’s as if all around me I experience closed doors, the boundaries of society. Banging into one and then another. When away these are gone and there is just me and life, mingling together, as if we are throwing our very own cocktail party and having a fabulous time, whist at it.

Maybe this is why I normally prefer travelling to holidays, as I get to decide when I’ve had enough of one place and it is time to move on.

I like the freedom that travel provides. If one place doesn’t fit, I find another. Yet it all seems more difficult in the UK for me around christmas time. In a way – when in my home town, it connects me to my grief and experiences of loss. Rather than my passion and the fun I find in life.

Yet I knew a short stay holiday was exactly what we needed on this occasion, our joint gift, shared between us this christmas. A way of being kind to ourselves. So all inclusive turned out to be the only option and what a treat it was.

We love to be away and yet need to be here.  Struggling at times to find the balance and a way forward – to be that river gorging a new path through already solid ground.

Tenerife. Canary islands

In my next post I’ll share with you more about the resort – what’s on offer and the eco experience unique to San Blas and maybe you too can take a trip there, enjoy a little rest, recuperation on an all inclusive basis. Experience the ecological environment  on offer and learn a little more about the island.

How do you feel around this time of year. Does it leave you feeling invigorated or drained and how do you spend your time?

I’d love to know your thoughts…

Leave a Reply

