An Evening Out at a Michelin-Star Restaurant in Edinburgh

Arriving in Edinburgh on the Caledonian Sleeper for the weekend, I felt excited by the prospect of all the wonderful activities I was going to experience. Like driving a 1966 Austin Healey. A Helicopter ride across the Cairngorms and a private tour of the Royal Yacht Britannia, amongst others but one of the experiences I was most looking forward to, was being given the opportunity to dine at The Kitchin – a One Michelin star restaurant, housed in a converted whisky warehouse in the dock area of Lieth and owned by a celebrity chef.

Due to Customer demand the restaurant has recently been renovated, expanded and refurbished in 2015, to cater for more people desiring to try its wonderful cuisine. It’s been open since 2006.

‘We’re Fanatical about Seasonal Cooking from Nature to Plate.’

Is the food philosophy of the Owners: Michaela and Tom Kitchin.

Who by the way were very gracious, in coming to say hello and welcome us to the restaurant on our arrival, as we drank our champagne. (Would it be rude of me to say he reminded me a little of Leo Sayer. It must have been his mob of unruly curly hair which did the trick!)

Tom is well-known on television for appearing on Saturday Kitchen, The Great British Menu and the BBC series The Chef’s Protégé in 2013 and is a passionate advocate of seasonal cooking.

EdinburghOn this particular occasion we were going to taste dishes from the Chef’s Classic Tasting Menu. Enhanced with a complimenting set of wines.

I felt excited as we were taken into the private dining area and surprised really by  the simplicity of the laid table. As the staff hurried about their business, we sat expectantly waiting for our first course, which was a carrot velouté (I think it is a  french term for soup) with creme freche, apple and croutons. This first dish for me tasted a little under seasoned for my palate (horror – am I meant to say that!)

Edinburgh

Our second course won me over as I stared at her curved, fluted sensual shell. Encrusted with pastry. Our waiter expertly flicked it open to expose her interior. Succulent hand dived, Orkney scallops (Yes that is my lips you can hear smacking together.) served in a white wine and wild herb sauce. I cut them carefully and sipped the 2013 Pencarrow Chardonnay from New Zealand – served alongside them, whilst nibbling on the pastry. Divine.

Edinburgh The next dish on our menu, scared me silly. What do you think you would say to eating a Pigs head & crispy ear salad. Served with roasted tail of langoustine from Tobermory. The Kitchin was definitely fulfilling its philosophy with each dish.

Yes, I was scared – no it did not come out looking like a pigs head and if I am honest, was another of my favourite dishes on the night. Turbot next on the list – never having had this before, I found it very fleshy-its texture reminding me a little of cod and I will be cooking this at home in the future.

Edinburgh

The loin of red deer didn’t disappoint either-by this point I was thoroughly enjoying every dish put in front of me. A tart Blackcurrant sorbet cleansed my mouth and prepared me for the last course which was a coffee soufflé, with a chocolate ganache and espresso ice cream. Which along with the starter was my least favourite dish. A pleasant dessert wine from Pedro Ximenez – unfortunately I don’t remember which one, had a sweet taste of sherry which I love. It rounded off the whole evening divinely.

Would I eat there again. You bet.

What about you. Would you like to eat at the Michelin-star restaurant-The Kitchin?

Leave a Reply

