The Gift of Road Schooling

New Zealand, Queenstown

It’s that time of year again, when people are beginning to look a little frayed round the edges, as nerves start to frazzle and the festive season looms ever closer.

It’s also the time of year, when on reflection I take a moment, pause and give thanks for the gift I have been given-my children and reflect on the happiness they have brought me and the gift I was able to give them in return, whilst we travelled the world.

Kaikora

Road schooling was very different to how I thought it would be. I wondered how it would unfold and eventually gave up the control I initially thought I needed, in ensuring my children were ‘educated,’ to allow them to actually become so.

My daughter kept her interest in reading and systematic schoolwork and enjoyed the small amount of structure it provided. My son happily gave up anything to do with any form of structured learning and embraced the freedom this provided. Feeling and finding his way in each moment.

The Yasawas

The Yassawas

They both were becoming educated through their experiences but also had the opportunity to educate others along the way.

Watching them both become animated and engaged in their everyday living and build excellent communication skills with both adults and children alike, whatever language was being spoken, an added bonus and an inherent part of the journey.

As a Parent I was able to observe their growth and I would say to any other family contemplating taking a little time out to travel the world, “DO IT.” Don’t hesitate for a moment – let go of the loft conversion, kitchen extension or garden re-make.

The Yassawa, Nacula

Runaway Bay

Make the most of the precious time that is the gift of bonding with your children on a profoundly deep level and spend some fun time and down time with them. Believe me, it’ll be worth it and you will be providing them with the best education there is.

San Francisco

So this Christmas, what kind of gift would you like to give to your children?

I’d love to know your thoughts…

2 thoughts on “The Gift of Road Schooling

  1. The topic of home-schooling or “road-schooling” has been on my mind a lot lately. I love to hear the experiences of others. You’ve obviously figured it out. I love your style 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

