Life’s Boundaries and Limitations

As our world becomes ever more interactive, with the advancement of the technological aspects of our existence. I would like to point out at this time – that although technology advances at a ridiculous pace, this leads me to wonder how it will ever be sustainable for the ordinary, everyday individual, community or country.  From my thinking we evolve slowly as a race.

Sometimes I think it is irresponsible to create something faster, better, newer – just because we can.

At other times I marvel at the incredible ingenuity of those out there creating new, exciting and innovative ways for us to live our lives.

Just google the ET3 Worldwide Transportation Project – do you fancy being transported from New York to Los Angeles in just 45 minutes?

 This will give you an idea of what the forward thinkers of our world are coming up with in the now.

I bought an iphone for the first time the other day. I know I must be the only blogger without such a tool – a throwback to more archaic times, not yet au-fait with instagram or twitter.

It’s sitting in its box – waiting for me.

I keep looking at it but at the moment am happy to leave it to one side until I, as a person am ready to deal with it.

The conversation I had with the seller of the phone, which wasn’t Apple stated:

“Somebody bought one in England and thought they could change it  at one of our shops when abroad. Our company doesn’t work like that.”

It got me thinking about boundaries. The dictionary definition is:

 ‘Something that indicates a border or limit.’

A company that is global does not necessarily mean a global company. If that makes sense.

Is it worth remembering when we travel, be it online or in the physical sense that the boundaries and limits of other countries and our own are real. Whether we like them, want to adhere to them, choose to rebel against them or simply accept them.

The internet and technology (and very competent marketing men) make our lives seem borderless at times.

The reality of boundaries however, is that they are ever present: in companies, relationships, ourselves, communities, countries and families. They touch and connect with our lives in all different kind of ways.

As a Counsellor, I know boundaries make up part of the contract of therapy. As a Client, I have had it explained to me – the realities and limitations  of the counselling relationship.

Who hasn’t got a tale similar to tell, of stepping over some invisible line, whether it be with friends, family or stranger.

Mainland  Thailand for me, is an excellent example in travel.

My experience as an older married white woman travelling through the country, has been interesting and challenging at times.

1. I found when asking a question, the men at times have answered my Husband and not me.

A frustration I have learnt to let go of and accept, sometimes (well nearly) when it happens. Well not really, the feminist in me, just won’t let it go. The development has come through ascertaining judgement-of when to be assertive or when to be demure. As much as I don’t ever want to be.

2. Sometimes I have found the interaction of women my own age to be lacking in connection, at other times too invasive. A female masseuse’s interest in my lady parts in Koh Lanta – crossed a boundary of my own, as she lifted my skirt to take a peek for herself, at the differences between us. Way too invasive.

What boundaries have you experienced in travel and life that have been unexpected or interesting. Pray tell. I’d love to know your stories…

 

 

Leave a Reply

