Om Nom…

kaikora crayfish

So I’ve started a Street Food business.

Aside from the fact that I feel constantly knackered, seem to have so much on my plate (pardon the unintended pun) and yet have lots of valuable time to fill.

In all honesty, the only thing missing from my personal life at the present moment is travel. This is when I connect the most with myself, as I connect with the world around me. There is no better feeling than waking up, looking out of my window, absorbing the breathless wonder that is New Zealand’s Marlborough Sounds, then stepping out onto its very shoreline to wander bare footed in its clear cool water, before deciding what to eat for the day.

I come alive.

So, as my husband and I are developing our dishes to serve to the discerning British public, I thought I would take a moment and reflect on some of the food that I have eaten around the world.

1.Kaikora Crayfish

Ever since the last time my family and I travelled to New Zealand, my one regret is not buying a freshly cooked crayfish from Nins Bins, sitting by the side of the pacific ocean whilst consuming its fleshy white interior, topped with a squeeze of lemon and a sprinkling of salt. I’m pleased to say, this time around I managed to fulfill this desire. An expensive but tasty roadside treat, if you’re ever in the area.

2. Noname

This delicious dish we tried in the little restaurant which is part of the Sunshine Resort on the Thai Island of Koh Tao, in Chalok Ban Kao. Made of tempura batter and filled with fragrant flavours, combined with freshly cooked vegetables and served with a side of sweet chilli sauce. It looks like a little like an Indian pakora, it is another of those dishes that originates from leftover’s – like our very own bubble and squeak.

3. Pielicious

Ah, New Zealand – here is my third choice, maybe not to tempt the palate but to delight an English stomach with a Picton Pie Shop pie. If you ever get the chance to grab a little something on the go, when travelling between north and south islands, then this tasty inexpensive treat is probably one of the best that you will ever get. My favourite is the cottage pie, try it – you won’t be disappointed-perfect for a winter lunchtime treat.

Picton Pies

  1. Airplane Food

Am I ashamed to admit this – no, not on your nelly. I love airplane food. For me there is nothing else that says, I am waving goodbye to the shores of good ol’ blighty and setting out on a new adventure, than settling on a plane and within an hour or so receiving to my lap, a plate of sometime strange smelling delights, which fill me with a real sense of being nowhere in particular, reinvigorating my sense of freedom. (it’s not always about the taste but the feel the food provides)

airplane food

  1. Sweet tooth

I’m a street food lover in Singapore, the night markets share an interesting concoction of vegetable, meat, noodle and soya dishes – as do the cafes dotted along the side of the road in Little India, where you can get a plate full of mutton curry, dhal, bombay potato and poppadoms for just a few pounds, which will fill you up for the day. Leaving just a little space to try one of the cakes from Marina Bay Sands hotel later on. Yum…

IMG00052-20130211-1318

What is your favourite food when travelling?

after

yum cakes

One thought on “Om Nom…

  1. Pingback: Street Food, London Style | amberSpireamberSpire

Leave a Reply

